2019: Reviews of our Motorcycle Tours

The 2019 riding season has ended and, while we focus on 2020 with many events and new tours (to be announced soon), we are glad and proud to share with all of you the reviews our customers (better call them “travel companions” or “riding buddies”) have written this year.

 

2019: Let’s hear what our customers have to say!

 

Richard – Awesome Self-Guided Motorcycle Tour Tuscany & Umbria (27/11/2019)

My friend and I had done self-guided motorcycle tours before in other countries, but it was hard to find what we were looking for in Italy. Eventually we stumbled upon Adrian and his company – a very lucky discovery, as it turned out. Although the majority of Adrian’s business is guided tours, he immediately took on-board what we were looking for and went to great lengths to tailor a self-guided tour so that we got exactly what we were looking for. He was very communicative throughout the set-up and booking process, and was able to adapt a pair of rental bikes to our needs – a specific gps set-up, and lowered saddles.

Everything went perfectly, with good hotels, reliable bikes, and great routes. There were also lots of great recommendations for restaurants, and specific places to visit. Adrian is very personable and took the time when we picked the bikes up to make sure all our questions were answered, and we had occasional contact with him during the 10 days of our tour. There were no issues handing the bikes back at the end, and Adrian volunteered to lead us to the bike garage from our hotel so that we didn’t get lost in Florence’s busy streets.

If you’re looking to do a guided or self-guided motorcycle tour in Tuscany, I have no hesitation in recommending Adrian and his company!

Adrian: “Thank you very much for such a great review, I’m glad you and David enjoyed the tour! Adrian

 


 

Jim – Chianti Tour (07/11/2019)

The five star reviews are no lie. Make sure you include this tour on your trip to Italy. We did the one day Chianti tour and it was fabulous. A little rain did not dampen spirits. Our tour guide was Adrian. I advised him that I had only ridden on wide open roads in the states. He understood perfectly and guided us through Florence and Tuscany without us ever feeling anxious. Thank you Adrian!

Adrian: “Thank you Jim!! It was a pleasure to share that day with you guys!

 


 

Dora – Chianti Tour (30/10/2019)

We had a great time. I recommend it very much. Our guide, Adrian, is a wonderful person and takes care of everything. Will do it again!

Adrian: “Thank you Dora!!!

 


 

Megan – Ducati Experience (07/10/2019): Exciting and Unforgettable Ride – Must Do!

My husband and I booked a private trip for the Ducati Experience (on 9/26/19) and it was absolutely wonderful. My husband has been riding sport bikes for over 20 years and when we booked our honeymoon in Italy the first thing he asked was how far we were from the Ducati factory and if we could rent a motorcycle and drive there. I was lucky enough to find Tuscany Motorcycle Tours. Adrian is incredibly friendly, knowledgable, speaks great English, and provided a safe while exciting ride from Florence to Bologna and back. We stopped off at a local “biker bar” at the top of the mountains on the way back. It was awesome to feel like one of the locals, grab a coffee and take in the beautiful view. It was such an amazing experience – highly recommend booking any of the tours that Adrian offers as he is a true professional! Thanks again Adrian! Cheers – Megan and Ed

Adrian: “Thank you so much Megan, I’m really happy you and Ed had a great time with me!

 


 

Ben – Chianti Tour (02/10/2019): Awesome Tuscany motorcycle ride!!!

My first idea was to ride myself with a GPS. That would have been a mistake! Adrian knows these roads like the back of his hand and can take you on the best of them! We spent the whole day riding through the best twisties and scenery I could of imagined. It truly was the ride of a lifetime! Adrian is a great guide, loves what he does and an all around cool person to hang out with for the day. His prices are very reasonable considering the full attention and service he gives to his clients. I HIGHLY recommend this experience. You will not regret it!

Adrian: “Thank you Ben I’m so happy you had a great time! Cheers!!

 


 

Ron – Seaside and Volterra / Chianti Tour (09/09/2019)

I did two one day tours with Adrian. They were absolutely great from start to finish!

Preparation: Months before my trip I had a lot of questions about the different tours and places to stay. Adrian was very patient and answered all my questions and never made me feel as if they were a burden. He also had had many other good tips and suggestions that made planning my trip easier.

Tours: I did the seaside and Volterra tour, as well as the Chianti tour. Adrian met me promptly scheduled every morning. The tours were very well planned, but flexible enough to add stops for a cafè or anything else as needed. Adrian knows the region like the back of his hand and even though I’d never ridden a motorcycle in Italy before, I was totally comfortable following him. The roads are spectacular, and the road and pace can be adjusted to fit the particular rider or group. We had a bit of rain one afternoon and Adrian adjusted on the fly to keep us in the best possible conditions.

I can’t think of anything that he could have done better. I actually didn’t feel like I was on a tour, but more like I was on a fantastic adventure with a friend. I will definitely do this again with Tuscany Motorcycle Tours!

Adrian: “Thank you so much Ron Kirkland!! Hope to see you next year ?✌️

 


 

Ethel – MotoGP Experience San Marino (23/09/2019): Unforgettable Motorcycle Tour on a Ducati 950 Multistrada

So lucky we found Adrian and Tuscany Motorcycle Tours. We signed up for the 5 day MotoGP Experience. What an amazing, once in a lifetime adventure we ended up having! Since this was our very first trip to Europe, we were very concerned about all the details and how things would work out. Exchanging emails with Adrian really gave us peace of mind. What sold me was his prompt responses to all my questions….and I had quite a few! He gave very specific answers and assurances that our concerns would be met.

My husband wanted the Ducati 950 Multistrada even though he’s only 5’6”. Luckily, after putting on all the bags, our personal items, and getting on it, the seat was low enough that he was able to comfortably hold up the bike.

Adrian constantly assured us that all would be well. We are used to splitting lanes on the freeways in California, so following Adrian through the streets of Florence and beyond was not a problem. He is an expert rider and knows all the roads, passes, cities, restaurants….. it was easy getting to know him and after just one night, we seemed like old friends. Fortunately, the other rider’s skill level is very similar to my husband’s so Adrian felt comfortable taking us through busy streets and sweeping countryside passes. His lines are easy to follow.

Adrian knew exactly where to go and what to do for the San Marino MotoGP races. Just having someone who is so confident and familiar with this event relieved us of all stress. . This was something on our bucket list and we’re happy Adrian was a part of it!

The itinerary is exactly as stated in the description and even a bit more. He packs a lot into 4-1/2 days. Every minute is exciting and fun filled. After a couple of days, it felt like we’d been riding with an old friend who had the same passion for all things motorcycle. Adrian’s patience, expertise, knowledge and intensity for riding is obvious and he just wants to share with you his love for this beautiful area of Italy.

Adrian: “Thank you so much for such a wonderful review Ethel, it was my pleasure to share with you those days, hope to see you guys again very soon!

 


 

Jack – Ducati Experience (17/08/2019): An amazing ride experience!

I booked this ride expecting to have a very mellow ride. I hoped that the bike wouldn’t be abused and the tour would not be too slow or on roads that would really inspire spirited riding. What i got was nothing short of AMAZING!! Fist off, Adrian is a fantastic guide. He is very friendly, speaks very good English, and is able to determine the type of rider you are and the kind of ride you want to have. He tailors the ride to your needs and riding experience. I felt like i was riding with an old friend, not a tour guide!!

I have over 30 yrs of riding experience but it has been many yrs since i rode a proper street bike. I chose the Ducati Multistrada 950. The bike was in great shape so no worries for a comfortable and safe ride. I really enjoyed this bike. After a full day of riding i wasn’t sore at all, not one bit. Maybe it was all the adrenaline pumping but I really loved riding that bike and I’ve ridden many sport tours and sport bikes over the yrs.

The tour focused on the Futa Pass which is a spectacular stretch of road. We rode during the weekday so there were few cars and the ones that were there we made quick work of them ;-). The road was in excellent condition too. Very little potholes or rough patches. The Futa pass is very scenic and it seemed like 90km of non-stop twisties. I’m from SoCal and we have lots of great roads but nothing i have ridden compares to this road and the surrounding roads! The ride took us to the Ducati factory which was also a great experience to see these beautiful machines being built and witnessing the first fire and breathe of a new Ducati was a memorable experience.

Getting to the factory and back in one full day requires a pretty full day of riding which was perfect for me. We had a nice lunch (included with the tour). Luckily the A1 had traffic problems so the ride back we rode more of the Futa pass region but different route. Some of the sections on the way back had the best S turn sweepers, fast, smooth and linked up perfectly, again with very little traffic.

Most of the traffic was around Florence and that was almost as fun as riding FUTA pass. It’s really fun to race around Florence with the rest of the moto family. Everyone lines up at the light and it feels like a little race. All classes line up from little scooters, sport tours, and sport bikes. The riding spirit of Italians is just fantastic. I loved every minute of this ride and I would not hesitate to do it again. Thanks Adrian! Let’s stay in touch and you are welcome anytime you come to San Diego!!

Adrian: “Thank you so much for this wonderful review Jack!! I’m happy you loved the experience and I really hope to meet you again in Italy or the USA, who knows! Cheers! Adrian

 


 

Wayne – Chianti Tour (16/07/2019): Awesome ride through the Tuscan countryside

We had a wonderful adventure on our Chianti Tour with Adrian. He is a great guide and led us through the beautiful countryside of Tuscany. I don’t usually write recommendations on social media, but can’t help but suggest that you try this when in Florence. ??

Adrian: “Thank you Wayne!

 


 

Elaine – Ducati Experience (14/07/2019)

We had the most amazing experience with Tuscany Motorcycle Tours! Adrian was the best! We did the Ducati Experience Tour and were blown away by the stunning Italian landscape and the Ducati Factory/ Museum. Absolutely amazing and an adventure we will remember forever!

Adrian: “Thank you very much Elaine!

 


 

Helen – MotoGP Experience Mugello (23/06/2019): Unforgettable riding, racing and springtime beauty in Tuscany

“Perfect days – rides in the countryside over mountain passes, twisty windy roads, racing!, unplanned, free time to explore Florence, local food. Adrian’s knowledge of the roads, the sport of motorcycle racing, and the history of the area is impressive. We are especially glad to have booked this trip with him. Excellent host and we highly recommend him!

Adrian: “Thank you so much Helen! It was my pleasure!

 


 

Nathan – Cities of Tuscany (10/06/2019): Tailor made tour with Tuscany Motorcycle Tours

I was very limited with dates of when I could do a motorcycle tour in Tuscany and many of the operators did not have tours matching up with my availability but rather than give up I got in touch with Adrian from Tuscany Motorcycle Tours and as luck would have it he was available on my dates. I wanted to do the Cities of Tuscany tour and he very kindly added the tour in to his calendar to suit me. However, he couldn’t quite get the numbers to do the tour with the overnight stay in Volterra so we did 2 x 1 day tours with different clients on each day which was even better! I got to do the main attractions of the tour (Lucca-Pisa-Volterra) on the first day and Chianti region on day 2 (Monteriggioni-San Gimignano-Winery-Greve in Chianti). We went along beautiful Tuscan roads, full of nice bends (long and short) with some short rides along the motorways which was all fantastic. Adrian’s flexibility during the days was awesome as we could take our time in certain areas, take in gelato and/or espresso so never felt stuck to any rigid schedule. As I had selected a 2 day tour I was put up in a quaint and very comfortable hotel just outside Florence and Adrian was very keen for the hotel was up to a certain standard for me. I thoroughly recommend Tuscany Motorcycle Tours and I hope to join one of their other tours in the not too distant future.

Adrian: “Thank you so much for Nathan, it was a pleasure to ride you you those 2 days! Good luck! Adrian

 


 

David – Chianti Tour (03/06/2019): Motorcycle Dream Day

What a great day! Everything others have already said about Adrian and Tuscany Motorcycle tours is right on the mark. Where to go, which roads to take, how much time will be needed, all that stuff that gets in the way of a good relaxing journey when you’re on your own. Booking with Tuscany Motorcycle Tours clears all that away. Couldn’t have been better!

Adrian: “Thank you for the comment David!!

 


 

Brett – Chianti Tour (24/05/2019): Perfect Day

What an incredible experience! I initially thought about hiring a bike and just going for a ride myself which would have been a mistake. Adrian is a great bloke who is not only fluent in English, Spanish, French and Italian but has exceptional local knowledge of the region which makes any ride very picturesque and a lot of fun. I would never have found all the roads he took us on and would have missed some spectacular sites. Even knowing where to stop in towns for a coffee or lunch is a big bonus. It left like riding with a bunch of mates. There is also scope for flexibility in the ride so if there is something in particular you’d like to see I’m sure it could be accommodated. I would highly recommend Tuscany Motorcycle Tours!

Adrian: “Thank you so much Brett!!

 


 

Jen – Chianti Tour / Seaside and Volterra (10/05/2019): Most Amazing Trip Ever!

My husband and I rode for 2 days with Adrian on the Chianti Tour and the Volterra/Seaside tour on a BMW RT1200 (I was the passenger). This was our first time visiting Italy (7th time in Europe) and we had been wanting to ride through Tuscany for the past 5 years–bucket list item. We have driven all over Europe, but riding a motorcycle is a little different when it comes to the rules of the road, so going out with a guide for the first day was something we knew we wanted to do. I found Tuscany Motorcycle tours on Trip Advisor and reached out to Adrian about a dozen times with questions about booking, bike rental, what gear we needed, what the weather was going to be like, etc., before booking directly through him. That patient man answered all my million questions so promptly!! Communication was always spot on from the very beginning. We rented the bike for 4 days to do some exploring on our own, but had so much fun with Adrian after our first day, I asked if we could book with him for a second day on our fourth and final day later that week. So glad we did.

We met Adrian at the bike rental place in Florence and took off for a day through the Tuscan countryside. My husband has been riding for about 10 years, but took a couple of years break recently, so Adrian definitely gave him the time he needed to get back into the grove. Luckily, it didn’t take him too long! I mean..its like riding a bike after all. 😉 Navigating through Florence following Adrian was easy and fun. Adrian asked my husband at the beginning of the trip if he was comfortable splitting the lane, something we just don’t do in the USA, but the hubs was down for it. When in Rome —errr…Tuscany! Splitting the lane is actually ridiculously fun…and super fast when there is traffic! We went out on Easter Monday and apparently so did every Italian family, so traffic in San Gimignano and some of the other towns was pretty insane, and being able to just ride past all that traffic was just plain awesome ( so wish we could do that in the States!). Adrian was always sure to keep us close and safe while navigating through all the traffic. It was fantastic to ride the total Italian way!

After eating an amazing lunch in San Gimignano (we are total foodies and Adrian definitely picked fantastic places to eat both days we were out), we headed up the most incredible road we had ever been on. It had turns that lasted for days, elevation changes galore, and you could go fast, so fast (but safe of course). This road is why motorcycles were built. Seriously. My husband and I are still reliving that road in our heads over and over again. He said he had never ridden so hard and had never had so much fun riding in his life. The roads in the US he used to consider fun are now so boring compared to the roads in Tuscany. Having Adrian leading the way on a road he knows like the back of his hand, enabled my husband to setup his turns and speed much easier and have more fun than riding it the first time by himself. He said it was an absolute blast riding with Adrian. After that incredible hour long road, we stopped at a winery where we were all on this incredible adrenaline high and talked nonstop for about 20 minutes about that road!! Seriously…that is how incredible it was! At the winery, we went on a private tour of the production facility and did some light wine tasting (well the guys did light tasting…I did heavy tasting as the passenger-lol!) in the wine cave. I proceeded to ship a half case home to Colorado…yes, it IS that good!

At the end of the first day, Adrian took us up to the point in Florence where it overlooks the whole city, including the Duomo, and took some photos of us on the bike with the skyline in the background. Adrian has a great eye for photography and the Florence photo will be going on the wall in our house!

Our second day out with Adrian was just as fun as the first – scenery, roads and restaurants wise. Volterra is a truly incredible town and the ride up there is windy as can be! We got to know Adrian more and had some great and funny conversations and by the end of our last day with him, it felt like we were saying goodbye to a dear friend.

Riding through Tuscany was one of the most amazing adventures (yes it is an adventure!) we have ever had and Adrian definitely was a major part of making it an amazing experience. We cannot wait to come back very soon and the next time I will have my motorcycle license!! There is so much to explore in Tuscany and we plan to book a longer tour with Adrian when we do! I cannot recommend him and riding through Tuscany enough!

Specifics: We went at the end of April and the weather was low 70s during the day and 50s at night (jeans and a light jacket is perfect for the evenings). It rained a bit at the end of our first day and some on the second day, but it wasn’t bad. The landscape was green as green can be and the vineyards were just beginning to grow leaves. There were flowering trees everywhere and the smells were amazing. It is a wonderful time to explore the region. We rented helmets, but brought our own com system that clipped into the helmets. Highly recommend doing this if you are riding with a partner–we were able to talk about everything we were seeing. We brought waterproof riding jackets and waterproof riding pants and of course riding boots and gloves. The waterproofing came in handy during the rain. The gear kept us the perfect temperature while riding…but we ditched the jackets while walking around the towns during the day…too hot.

Adrian: “Wow Jen… WHAT A FANTASTIC MESSAGE!! It makes me so happy to read this, I just can’t stop smiling! haha Thank you so much for your visit, I had a great time with you guys and I hope we’ll meet again in the future, maybe for an ice cold beer with you and Erik in Denver!

 


 

Web – Seaside and Volterra (21/04/2019): No better way to experience Tuscany than by motorcycle!

From Florence to the coast and then up the mountains on the back of a Ducati Supersport. An amazing experience seeing new places and bettering my riding skills.

Adrian loves Tuscany and its plain to see it never gets old for him. And so he knows the best views, places to see, and the best riding roads. From the planning stages, Adrian was great to work with, not only answering every question I had but helping pick out the perfect bike for the experience for me based on my previous riding. When we finally met in the morning I felt like I was re-connecting with a friend, and that was the feeling all day.

The roads he chose for this trip were amazing to ride on. 200 miles of tarmac unlike anything I’ve seen in America before: tight, decreasing radius 180deg turns as we climbed up and down the mountains to visit ancient cities like Volterra. Even by the end of the day I was a better rider than I was in the beginning.

Adrian: “What a fantastic review Web! I’m really happy you enjoyed the experience and got more riding skills with our tour, hopefully from now on, when you make a twisty road you’ll remember Tuscany! Grazie mille!!!

 


 

Donald – Ducati Experience / Seaside and Volterra (18/04/2019)

Excellent time with Adrian on two day Tuscany tour enjoying riding the Ducati Multistrada 1260 through many kilometers of Tuscany. Ducati factory tour was very interesting as well. I would highly recommend as much time as you can spend in the area with Adrian as your guide. Trips are informative, safe and beautiful. Arrivederci!

Adrian: “Thank you very much for your feedback Don, I’m so glad you enjoyed the experience!

 


 

Nina – Cities of Tuscany (01/04/2019)

My 2 day trip was truly a joy. Adrian has an extensive knowledge of the places, food and roads in Tuscany – in fact he knows every single bend and it was a great pleasure to follow his advice and get most out of the riding experience. Also, booking, communication side of the trip was excellent. Much much recommended!

Adrian: “Thank you so much Nina!

 

Fonts:

About Author

client-photo-1
Adrian
Adrian is a Spanish rider living in Florence since 2009. On this time he had the chance to ride his bike all around the Tuscan territory and also in other areas in Italy (his preferred after Tuscany are Sardinia and the Dolomites).

Comments

Leave a Reply